Acknowledgements

The work of the Committee was supported by many organisations and individuals, without whom the completion of this Report would not have been possible.

Individuals who served on the Committee:

Senator Martin McAleese, Independent Chair

Jimmy Martin, Department of Justice and Equality

Barry Murphy and Bairbre Nic Aongusa, Department of Health

Francis Rochford and Philip Kelly, Department of Jobs, Enterprise and Innovation

Mary McGarry, Department of Education and Skills

Mary Moylan, Department of Environment, Community and Local Government

Denis O'Sullivan, Department of Children and Youth Affairs

Nuala Ní Mhuircheartaigh, adviser to Senator McAleese in his role as Independent Chair and analyst and drafter for the Committee

Other Departmental officials who provided assistance:

Department of Justice and Equality: Gerry McDonagh, Therese Molyneux, Lorretta Barrett, Deirdre Reidy and Colette Barry

Department of Health: Fergal Flynn, John Dolan and Vincent Byrne

Department of Children: Alan Savage and Fergal Conlan

Department of Education and Skills: Nuala Hynes, Mary Halligan, Della Sammon and Anne O'Neill

Department of Environment, Community and Local Government: Donal Enright and Genevieve Donohoe

Department of Jobs, Enterprise and Innovation: Evelyn Daly

Department of Foreign Affairs and Trade, in particular Secretary General David Cooney and Ambassador Gerry Corr

Religious Congregations:

Sisters of the Good Shepherd

Sisters of Our Lady of Charity of Refuge

Religious Sisters of Charity

Sisters of Mercy

Advocacy and Representative Groups:

Irish Women's Support Network UK, in particular Sally Mulready and Phyllis Morgan and the 31 women they represent who had been in Magdalen Laundries

Magdalen Survivors Together, in particular Stephen O'Riordan and the 15 women he represents who had been in the Magdalen Laundries

Justice for Magdalenes, in particular Jim Smith, Claire McGettrick, Maeve O'Rourke, Katherine O'Donnell and Mari Steed and the 7 women introduced by them to the Committee, who had been in a Magdalen Laundry

Others introduced to the Committee by these Groups, including family members of women who had been in Magdalen Laundries, as well as women who spent time in other institutions

Other state offices, agencies and officers:

Central Statistics Office: Padraig Dalton, Kieran Walsh, Edward Lambe and in particular Fiona O'Callaghan

Irish Human Rights Commission, in particular former President Maurice Manning and acting CEO Des Hogan

National Library of Ireland, in particular Ciara Kerrigan and John O'Sullivan

Oireachtas Library and Research Staff, in particular Seamus Haughey and Erin O'Mahony

Ordnance Survey Ireland, in particular John Clarkin

National Archives, in particular Tom Quinlan and Helen Hewson

Department of Social Protection

Department of An Taoiseach, in particular Secretary General Martin Fraser

Department of Defence

Local Authority Archivists and Librarians

The Probation Service, in particular Gerry McNally, Maeve O'Connor and Maura Looney

Oifig an Ard-Chláraitheora (Office of the Register General), in particular the staff of the Certificate Production Office

An Garda Síochána

The Defence Forces Military Archives

The Courts Service

The Health Service Executive, in particular Phil Garland and Declan McKeon

The Valuation Office, in particular the Public Office and Archives Section

Historians and academics:

Frances Finnegan, formerly of Waterford Institute of Technology

Diarmaid Ferriter, University College Dublin

Maria Luddy, University of Warwick

Moira Maguire, University of Arkansas at Little Rock

Eoin O'Sullivan, Trinity College Dublin

Jacinta Prunty, National University of Ireland, Maynooth

Accountants to the Religious Congregations: Robert J Kidney & Co. Delahunty & Co. Nolan & Associates L & P Trustee Services Limited Medical Doctors: Dr Michael Coughlan Dr John Ryan Dr Donal Kelly Dr Harry Comber Dr Malachy Coleman Other individuals and organisations who offered assistance to the Committee: **Archbishop Martin** Noelle Dowling, Dublin Diocesan Archive Galway Diocesan Archive Waterford and Lismore Diocesan Archive Cork & Ross Diocesan Archive Limerick Diocesan Archive Bishop Christopher Jones Bishop Eamon Walsh Bishop William Lee The Congregation of the Most Holy Redeemer The Congregation of the Passion

Irish Society for the Prevention of Cruelty to Children (ISPCC), in particular Ashley Balbirnie, Caroline O'Sullivan and Aoife Kennedy

The Legion of Mary

The Society of St. Vincent de Paul

The Salvation Army

UK National Archives, in particular Patrick Mallett

Dermot Walsh, Retired Inspector of Mental Hospitals

24 Retired Factories Inspectors

John Kennedy

Sr Stanislaus Kennedy

Patricia Burke Brogan

Dublin City University especially Brian MacCraith, Declan Raftery and Ciarán

O'Cuinn

Bernadette Fahy

Imelda Murphy

Ronan Murphy

Catherine Butler

Padraig McKeon

Dean Hardy

Daire Keogh

Brian Rowntree

Cúnamh

The Dublin Lions Club

RTÉ

And finally a special thanks to all the women who shared the story of their time in the Magdalen Laundries with the Committee.