The Free Throw Contest is our number one Youth activity. We have had as many as 130 children participate in it. We have a yearly Christmas Party for all children with the youngsters

providing a "talent show". Several of our members serve on the Youth Advisory Board for our parish. Our members are always available to provide transportation and chaperone youth activities whenever the need arises. The youth of our parish have participated in the Right-To-Life Poster contest. Our council purchased uniforms for a local baseball team and we award a scholarship to a graduating senior each year.

We try to include the family in almost all of our activities. We are



(I to r) Harry Tucker SD, Germain Fortier Sdir, Nick Senger, GK

active in the Family of the Month program. We have potluck dinners and other social events. We are up to 92 members now from out original 38 ten years ago. We are going strong.

## FIFE - St Martin of Tours Council 14162

St Martin of Tours Council 14162 was formed on August 28, 2006 by Dutch Dolney, a member of St Nicholas Council 9238 and the District Deputy of District 22. The charter members were:

James L Allen	Robert Berrens	John A
Marc P Bingcang	James K Bruenn	Donal
Raymond R Clairmont	George F Cohee	Joey J
Gregory Davis	Rick H Demere	Terry
Alfred V Franch	James A Good	Paul C
Carlito D Hidalgo	Virgil G Hulsey	Nicho
Stephen G Kober	Todd J Larson	Micha
Simon P Martin	Alvin K Mazonna	John I
Patrick J McKenna	Andrew T Miller	James
Thomas C Murray	Ray S Ozanich	Jeff Pa
E Ted Robinson	Feliz M Rocha	David
Michael Schack	Thomas W Shaw	W Ca
Michael J Thomas	Fr Gary Weisenberger	John V

John A Berry Donald P Campion Joey J Contreras Terry D Faherty Paul G Hibbeln Nicholas Iacobazzi Michael L Liljestrom John D McGrath James T Murphy Jeff Patrick David L Rust W Carl Stegman John V Zajac

## FT. LEWIS-McCHORD - Four Chaplains' Council 10652

Ft. Lewis-McChord Council 10652 was instituted on Fort Lewis on June 19, 1991 by District Deputy Everett J. Roberts. The charter members were:

Jericho D. Allegro Jeffrey B. Blair <b>Chan</b>	Keith M. Anderson James M. Brown	Richard F. Atkinson Robert L Cavey
Edward B. Daly	Raymond A. Degenhardt	Stephen W. DeLay
James D. Flammio <b>Treas</b>	Thomas M. Flanders <b>GK</b>	Stephen G. Fogarty
John W. Frankly	Jesse D. Galvan <b>Rec</b>	Garv J. Graber FS
Joseph W. Grande DGK	John P Hazelbaker	Everett D. Knapp <b>TR</b>
Roger J. Langer	Paul Leonard Adv	Kenneth S. Mead II
Michael G. O'Donnell TR	Daniel W Oehmke	Clifford Peete Jr
Ricardo Perez	William A. Ouintanilla	Everett J Roberts TR

Perrv M. Roberts	Robin P. Roberts
Nathaniel J. Windle W	John R. Yingling

Henry L. Varacchi

Those who were instrumental in the formation of the council were DD#22 Everett J. Roberts; Father (Capt) Richard Edelin (Senior Catholic Chaplain on McChord AFB) and Father (Lt Col) Lee Hightower. Since institution the council has hosted major degrees; collected clothing for the poor of the Yakima Indians; assisted at the Washington State Special Olympics; had family pot luck dinners and visited the American Lakes VA Hospital.

This council conducts breakfasts and Gregorian Masses monthly; the members visit the sick in private homes, nursing homes and the VA hospital. We support Human Life; Meals on Wheels; the Special Olympics; fundraisers for medical expenses. We provide support for the Spanish speaking population at the McNeil Island prison. Our Spouse Support Program provides support for the families who husbands are deployed with the military. We support Human Life; Meals on Wheels; our altar servers; the Special Olympics; fundraisers for medical expenses. We provide support for the Spanish speaking population at the McNeil Island prison.

This council annually conducts a spaghetti dinner; kids and family Christmas parties; St Patrick 's Day dinner; donates rosaries to Youth & CCD groups (usually 500 but 5000 in 98); The members of the council serve as Ushers, Choir members, Lectors, Eucharistic Ministers, on the pastoral council and CCD instructors for all masses and special events. The council was renamed "The Four Chaplains' Council" in 1999.

## GIG HARBOR - St. Nicholas Council 9238

Council Historian: David C McConnon

St. Nicholas Council 9238 was instituted on March 6, 1986 by District Deputy Frank J. Grant with 54 members. The charter members and officers were:

Rev. Michael Angelovic W. R. Colborn	Joseph H. Bushnell Frank W. D'Andrea	Lee K. Capp <b>TR</b> Richard L. DesChane
Jerome W. Dolney OG	Christopher J. Dysart	J. A. Escobar
Lawrence W. Faker	James J. Falcocchio	Del D. Garber*
Robert L. Godsey W	Chris N. Goodman	Thomas E. Gross <b>TR</b>
Clarence W. Hedden	Lawrence P. Helegda	Gerald E. Hill
William B. Hunter	John M. Jerkovich	Nick J. Jerkovich
Nick A. Jurlin	William W. Kalogonis	Jerome A. Karella
Peter R. Kesling	Lucien J. Lamoreaux	Gerald R. Lester
Gerald C. Ley <b>TR</b>	Nick L. Markovich Treas	David C. McConnon GK
David T. McConnon	Michael J. McCormick	Robert E. McGilvrey
Richard C. Meyer <b>TR</b>	Kurt J. Nesselrode	R. H. Puryear
Tom R. Rajkovich	Robert J. Ramsey	Marion A. Rogalla <b>Rec</b>
Mark W. Rogalla <b>DGK</b> *	William J. Reuter	Leo A. Schaefer Sr IG
Leo A. Schaefer Jr	Paul A. Schaefer	Dan G. Sorensen
John E. Stafford	Marion N. Stancic	D. M. Sundberg
H. E. Sundberg	Warren J Van Buskirk Chan*	James E. Wainwright Adv
Eric D. Waters	Floyd S. Wright	Rev. Kurt Wuellner

Gig Harbor was named by Lieutenant Charles Wilkes for a very prosaic reason - because it "has sufficient depth of water for small vessels." Our parish started the process of having its own council by requesting members of Tacoma Council 809 to have a recruiting drive in October 1985. Thirteen parishioners indicated a desire to become members. There were also fourteen parishioners with an inactive status from councils all over the U.S. who wished to become active