Bishop Accountability
  Problem Dioceses

By Susan Hogan/Albach
Dallas Morning News
January 7, 2004

The audits of 191 of the nation's 195 dioceses were commissioned by the U.S. Conference of Catholic Bishops to ensure the implementation of the sexual-abuse charter adopted in Dallas in June 2002.

To read the report, go to

As of Dec. 12, the following dioceses were "not fully" following the charter: Archdiocese of Anchorage, Alaska; Archdiocese of New York; Archdiocese of Omaha, Neb;. Byzantine Eparchy of Passaic N.J.; Diocese of Alexandria, La.;Diocese of Arlington, Va.; Diocese of Bismark, N.D.; Diocese of Honolulu; Diocese of La Crosse, Wis; . Diocese of Lincoln, Neb.; Diocese of Memphis, Tenn.; Diocese of Richmond, Va.; Diocese of Steubenville, Ohio; Eparchy of St. Maron in Brooklyn, N.Y.; Eparchy of St. Thomas the Apostle in Michigan; Melkite Greek Catholic Eparchy of Newton, Mass.; Syriac Catholic Diocese of Our Lady of Deliverance, Union City, N.J.; Syro-Malabar Eparchy of St. Thomas of Chicago; Ukranian Eparchy of St. Nicholas of Chicago; Ukranian Eparchy of St. Josephat in Parma, Ohio.

These dioceses didn't participate in the audits: Apostolic Exarchate of Armenian Catholics The Diocese of St. Thomas, Virgin Islands; Armenian Exarchate of New York; Diocese of Davenport, Iowa.


Any original material on these pages is copyright © 2004. Reproduce freely with attribution.