Department of Communications           Mailing Address:                  Telephone:

                              1933 Spielbusch Avenue                                           P.O. Box 985                         419-244-6711

                                        Toledo, Ohio 43624                                                    Toledo, OH 43697-0985    419-244-0468 fax




FOR IMMEDIATE RELEASE                                            CONTACT:  Sally Oberski                                                                                                                                       Director of Communications                                                                                                                                    419-244-6711 x 243







June 27, 2004 – Toledo, Ohio – Recently, through a mediation process, two lawsuits against the Diocese of Toledo and Bernard Kokocinski were settled.  As part of the settlement the Diocese and Bernard Kokocinski agreed to placed the following announcement in parish bulletins where Bernard Kokocinski served:


“Bernard Kokocinski, who was assigned here as a priest, was removed from priestly ministry by the Diocese of Toledo in 2002, as a result of credible allegations of sexual misconduct with a minor. He has not appealed his removal within the church and will not seek any reinstatement.”


The announcement was asked by the Diocese to appear in the June 27th bulletins of the following parishes:


Our Lady of Lourdes – Toledo

Saint John – Payne

Saint Anthony of Padua – Columbus Grove

Saint Jude – Toledo

Saint Michael – Hicksville

Most Pure Heart of Mary – Shelby

Sacred Heart – Bethlehem

Saint Mary – Defiance

Saint Joseph – Fremont

Saint Patrick of Heatherdowns – Toledo

Saint Adalbert – Toledo

Saint Mary – Vermilion

Saint Mary – Antwerp


The Diocese of Toledo, established April 15, 1910 encompasses 8222 square miles in a mixture of urban and rural areas that spans 19 counties across Northwest Ohio, serving 314,000 Catholics. The diocese includes Allen, Crawford, Defiance, Erie, Fulton, Hancock, Henry, Huron, Lucas, Ottawa, Paulding, Putnam, Richland, Sandusky, Seneca, Van Wert, Williams, Wood and Wyandot counties.