More Catholic Churches to Close

By Derek Gentile
Berkshire Eagle

August 11, 2008

SPRINGFIELD The Diocese of Springfield is expected to announce this morning further reconfigurations for Western Massachusetts Catholic churches.

The regions and communities that will be part of these announcements include Region 1, which is comprised of the city of North Adams, and the towns of Adams, Cheshire, Lanesborough and Williamstown; and Region 3, which is made up of the towns of Great Barrington, Lee, Lenox, New Marlborough, Monterey, Otis, Sheffield, Stockbridge and West Stockbridge and the villages of Housatonic and Lenox Dale.

Other Regions that will be part of the announcement will be Region 4, which includes all the villages, towns and the City of Greenfield in Franklin County and Region 10, which is made up of the cities of Agawam, Westfield and West Springfield, as well as the towns of Chester, Huntington, Russell and Southwick.

Last February, the diocese announced a reorganizing plan for the 10 Pittfsfield churches, which resulted in the closure of six: Our Lady of Mount Carmel, All Souls Mission, Holy Family, St. Mary the Morning Star, St. Francis Xavier and St. Teresa. All closed by July 6, although Holy Family is having a final Mass on Aug. 15, in conjunction with a Roman Catholic Holy Day and popular Polish feast.


Any original material on these pages is copyright © 2004. Reproduce freely with attribution.