31 additional Catholic parishes will merge in New York

May 08, 2015

The Roman Catholic Archdiocese of New York is merging 31 of its parishes into 14 new parishes as it concludes a reorganization process that has already seen dozens of churches shuttered.

Under the plan announced Friday, Mass will no longer be celebrated on a regular basis at six parish churches in Manhattan, the Bronx and Dutchess and Orange counties.

The archdiocese announced in November that 112 parishes were being consolidated into 55.

The latest round of mergers will take effect Aug. 1.

Cardinal Timothy Dolan said the churches built in the 19th and 20th centuries are not all necessary to meet the needs of the church today.

The archdiocese includes Manhattan, the Bronx, Staten Island and seven counties north of New York City.


Any original material on these pages is copyright © 2004. Reproduce freely with attribution.