Other Pontifical Acts, 16.12.2016

Vatican Information Service
December 16, 2016

The Holy Father has appointed:

Msgr. Louis F. Kihneman as bishop of Biloxi (area 24,992, population 815,494, Catholics 59,745, priests 84, permanent deacons 38, religious 66), United States of America. The bishop-elect was born in 1952 in Lafayette, Louisiana, United States of America, and was ordained a priest in 1977. He carried out his ecclesiastical studies in the St. Mary Seminary, Houston, obtaining a Masterís degree in religious pedagogy and in theology from the University of St. Thomas, Houston. He has served in a number of roles, including: vicar of the parish of St. Isidro Labrador, mission of the diocese of Corpus Christi in Arteaga in Mexico; diocesan director of religious education and parish vicar in Robstown and in Corpus Christi; parish priest in Alice; member of the Priest Personal Board; director of priestly vocations and director of the St. John Maria Vianney house of studies; adjunct vicar for the clergy (1988-1995); parish priest in Rockport; diocesan chancellor; and member of the presbyteral council. In 1990 he was named Chaplain of His Holiness. He is currently vicar general and pastor of the St. Philip Parish in Corpus Christi. He succeeds Bishop Roger P. Morin, whose resignation from the pastoral care of the diocese was accepted by the Holy Father.

Bishop Gustavo Alejandro Montini, auxiliary of San Roque de Presidencia Roque Saenz Pena as bishop of Santo Tome (area 29,011, population 186,369, Catholics 167,372, priests 17, permanent deacons 1, religious 15), Argentina.








Any original material on these pages is copyright © 2004. Reproduce freely with attribution.