Diocese Publishes Names of Clergy Previously Removed from Ministry Related to the Sexual Abuse of Minors

Roman Catholic Diocese of Saginaw
April 14, 2018

At a news conference this morning, the Honorable Michael J. Talbot, the newly appointed special independent delegate for sexual abuse of minors and misconduct in the Diocese of Saginaw, stated names of former clerics removed from ministry related to the sexual abuse of minors would be made available today. Judge Talbot has been appointed by the Most Rev. Joseph R. Cistone, Bishop of Saginaw, to assume full authority within the Diocese with regard to all matters involving the alleged sexual abuse of minors and sexual misconduct by clergy and diocesan representatives.

Since the adoption of the Charter for the Protection of Children and Young People and Essential Norms by the Bishops of the United States in 2002, the following clerics were permanently removed from ministry due to credible allegations of sexual abuse of minors. A listing of previous assignments for each may be found here.

Stanislaus A. Bur (former priest deceased)

John E. Hammer (former priest)

Richard L Howard (former deacon)

Jack E. Leipert (former priest)

Leonard F. Wilkuski (former priest)

In addition, two priests are currently on administrative leave related to allegations under investigation.

Robert J. DeLand

Ronald J. Dombrowski

The Diocese of Saginaw places no deadlines or time limits on reporting the sexual abuse of minors by clergy. To bring forward a complaint and/or to speak to the Victim Assistance Coordinator contact (989)797.6682 or Victims are encouraged to contact civil authorities.








Any original material on these pages is copyright © 2004. Reproduce freely with attribution.