Clergy abuse victims speak out against diocese

By Alex Taylor
October 09, 2018

[with video]

An alleged victim of sexual assault within the Steubenville Diocese spoke out during a peaceful protest on Tuesday.

Members of SNAP -- Survivors Network of those Abused by Priests -- marched into the diocese to deliver a letter intended for Bishop Jeffrey Monforton.

"This is something that should’ve been done so long ago,” said Judy Jones, SNAP Midwest regional leader.

She addressed Steubenville Diocese Communications Director Dino Orsatti, sharing her story.

"My brother was sexually abused here in the Steubenville Diocese," she said.

She also asked for more than what she thought was on the table.

"Bishop Monforton has also said he is going to release the names of accused priests in the near future,” Jones said. “We want him to release all the names -- dead or alive, every kind – clerk, laypeople, employees, deacons."

"We welcome any investigation, any legal authorities, and we would immediately cooperate in any fashion," Orsatti said.

As they have.

"We are willing to do whatever they want,” he said. “We are going to release the names of everyone involved later this month. We’re in the process of getting that list. We’re going to make it available."

Another individual, Amanda Dutton, joined SNAP on the sidewalk to hopefully encourage Ohio Attorney General Mike DeWine to join local prosecutors in unraveling the truth.

"Local agencies, prosecutor, police departments, all they have to do is invite him,” she said. “He comes right in.

"They need to do that. I’m not asking. That’s their job."

Orsatti heard them out.

"I understand your point, I really do," he said.

And he reassured the public the diocese is willing to cooperate.

"Whether its finances, whether its sex abuse cases, we want to be as transparent as possible," he said.

The diocese still intends to release the names of 12 to 20 priests accused of sexual abuse or misconduct by the end of October.


Any original material on these pages is copyright © 2004. Reproduce freely with attribution.