31 additional Catholic parishes will merge in New York


The Roman Catholic Archdiocese of New York is merging 31 of its parishes into 14 new parishes as it concludes a reorganization process that has already seen dozens of churches shuttered.

Under the plan announced Friday, Mass will no longer be celebrated on a regular basis at six parish churches in Manhattan, the Bronx and Dutchess and Orange counties.

The archdiocese announced in November that 112 parishes were being consolidated into 55.

The latest round of mergers will take effect Aug. 1.

Note: This is an Abuse Tracker excerpt. Click the title to view the full text of the original article. If the original article is no longer available, see our News Archive.