Spotlight Wins the 2016 Screen Actors Guild Award for Outstanding Performance by a Cast in a Motion Picture


[with video]

The Screen Actors Guild has crowned the night’s big winner: Spotlight.

Demi Moore presented the award for outstanding performance by a cast in a motion picture on Saturday night, prompting Mark Ruffalo, Michael Keaton, Rachel McAdams, John Slattery, Liev Schreiber, Brian d’Arcy James and Billy Crudup to head to the stage.

The film tells the true story of the Boston Globe’s investigation into the Catholic priest sex abuse scandal.

“I have to thank our producers, Tom McCarthy and Josh Singer, who just took every single opportunity to tell the truth,” said Ruffalo, 48. “They didn’t take any cheap way, it was always the truth and honored these people. These victims who are dead, and the survivors who are still alive, of one of the most horrific things that our culture has allowed to happen.”

Note: This is an Abuse Tracker excerpt. Click the title to view the full text of the original article. If the original article is no longer available, see our News Archive.